Candidates Endorsed by Jobs that Count

Make sure when you vote that you vote for a Jobs that Count endorsed candidate. These candidates have pledged:

I’ll be there

As an elected member of local government, I take the Jobs that Count pledge to make our towns and cities better places to live and work.

I stand for people. I will put our families and kids first, so they can live a good, full life – with warm dry housing and food on the table.

I stand for good jobs. I will promote people’s voices at work, fair pay, and the fundamental right to be a union member.

I stand for the things that matter. I will ensure the businesses that operate in our community are fair employers, keep our rivers clean, and sustain our natural environment.

I stand for community. We all benefit when we look out for each other.

Click here to share the endorsement list with your family and friends on Facebook


Candidate Name: Standing for:
Glenda Fryer Albert- Eden Local Board
Jessica Rose Albert-Eden Local Board
Margi Watson Albert-Eden Local Board
Piet Ubels Albert-Eden Local Board
Graeme Easte Albert-Eden Local Board
Dr Peter Haynes Albert-Eden-Roskill ward 
Zoe Brownlie Auckland District Health Board
Andrea Dawe Auckland District Health Board
Chris Peel Auckland District Health Board
Jeanette Elley Auckland District Health Board
Michelle Atkinson Auckland District Health Board
Patrick Brown Auckland Mayor
Wetini Paul Bay of Plenty Regional Council
Eileen Brown Capital & Coast District Health Board
Grant Brookes Capital & Coast District Health Board
John Minto Christchurch Mayor
Ann Galloway Dunedin City Council
steve walker Dunedin City Councilor
Mary Manuel Gisborne Ward - Gisborne District Council
paul bruce Greater Wellington Regional Council
Yugraj Singh Mahil Hamilton City Council
Francisco Hernandez Henderson-Massey Local Board
Matt Grey Grey Henderson-Massey Local Board
Tiaria Fletcher Henderson-Massey Local Board
Shane Henderson Henderson-Massey Local Board 
John Chapman Horizons Regional Council
Nicola Patrick Horizons Regional Council
Alan Papprill Howick Local Board
Lisa Bridson Hutt City Council
Brian Dawson Lambton Ward - Wellington City Council
Brent Barrett Manawatu-Wanganui
 Sue Kedgley

Capital and Coast DHB

Wellington Regional Council

Sue Pugmire Manawatu-Wanganui
James Etuale Manawatu-Wanganui
Karen Naylor Manawatu-Wanganui
Tafafunai Tasi Lauese Mangere-Otahuhu Local Board
Walter Togiamua Mangere-Otahuhu Local Board
Efeso Collins Manukau ward
Ezekiel Robson Manurewa Local Board
Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki Manurewa Local Board
Mote Pahulu Manurewa local board
John Kumitau Manurewa Local Board 
Richard Northey Maungakiekie – Tamaki Ward 
Patrick Cummuskey Maungakiekie-Tamaki
Dianne Khan Northern Ward
 Sue Teng Capital and Coast DHB
Richard Leckinger ORAKEI WARD
Lotu Fuli Otara Ward
Reece  Autagavaia Otara-Papatoetoe Local Board
Dawn Trenberth Otara-Papatoetoe Local Board
Tania Matulovich Mahoney Pakuranga
Lorna Johnson Palmerston North City Council
Sheryll Hoera Palmerston North City Council
Zulfiqar Butt Palmerston North City Council
David Chisholm Palmerston North City Council
Stefanie O'Brien Portage Licensing Trust - Glen Eden
Shail Kaushal Puketapapa Local Board
Bertie Ratu Te Puke - Maketu Ward 
Nicholas Mayne Upper Harbour Local Board 
Dave Kennedy Waiau Aparima Ward 
Gannin Ormsby Waikato Regional Council
Jo Wrigley Waikato Regional Council
Saffron Toms Waitakere Ranges Local Board
Greg Presland

Auckland City Council - Waitakere Ward

Waitakere Ranges Local Board

Sandra Coney Waitakere Ranges Local Board
Denise Yates Waitakere Ranges Local Board
Steve Tollestrup Waitakere Ranges Local Board
Chang Hung Waitemata Local Board
Shale Chambers Waitemata Local Board
Pippa Coom Waitemata Local Board
Kurt Taogaga Waitemata Local Board
Vernon Tava Waitemata Local Board
Eileen Brown Wellington
Sarah Free Wellington -Eastern Ward
Justin Lester Wellington Mayor
Peter Gilberd Wellington Northern Ward
Greg Hart Westport Ward
Tony Mudgway Whanganui District Council
Phillip Reweti Bear Whanganui District Council
Susan Zhu Whau Local Board
Catherine Farmer Whau Local Board
Portage Licensing Trust Ward 1
Tanya Kaihe Wiri Licensing Trust 



Paula Bold-Wilson Henderson Massey Local board
Christine O'Brien Mangere−Otahuhu Local Board
Mark Gosche Mt Wellington Licensing Trust
Mike Tana Porirua Mayor
Lesley Soper Invercargill City Council
Kurawari Panere Wairoa District Council
Peter Humphreys Hamilton City Council
Anna Casey-Cox Hamilton City Council
Scout Barbour-Evans Dunedin City Council
Brendon Bonner Wellington - Southern Ward
Anne-Marie Coury Puketāpapa Local Board
Julie Fairey Puketāpapa Local Board
Baljit Kaur Howick Local Board
Troy Mihaka Wellington - Lambton ward
Steve Baron Whanganui District C​ouncil
Dr Roger Blakeley

Wellington Regional Council

Capital and Coast DHB

Neil Henderson Waitakere Ranges Local Board
Brendan Corbett Manukau Ward
Wendy Mitchell Buller - Inangahua Ward
NIgel Wilson Wellington Regional Council
Iona Pannett Wellington - Lambton Ward
Helene Ritchie Wellington Mayor
Kelly Dugan Canterbury DHB
Martin Gregory Porirua East
Monina Gesmundo Waitamata DHB
Paul Bruce Wellington Regional Council
Rawiri Daniels Rotorua Lakes Council
Ross Clow

Portage Licensing Trust

David Whitley Whau Local Board - Auckland
Yani Johanson Christchurch - Linwood ward
Sam Ferguson Horizons Regional Council
David Benson-Pope Dunedin City Council

Candidates who want to sign the pledge can click here.


Jobs that Count is authorised by Graham Cooke, 68 Langdons Road, Papanui, Christchurch 8053


get updates